Avocado Chicken Enchilada Dip

Once again, my recipe is coming from Pinterest; I know you’re surprised. I cooked with tortillas once before, but I don’t use them a lot, so they end up going to waste. I still wanted to try this recipe because it combines so many things that I love.

Enchilada Dip - Briley style

Enchilada Dip – Briley style

I am going to warn you, this was not my favorite recipe. It tasted good, but the consistency was a little off. I think that has to do with cooking everything in the same place, rather than the ingredients. It is a recipe I want to try again, but in a kitchen. I started by cooking the chicken in coconut oil. I bought it for another citrus flavored recipe, and I think it’s healthier than other fats. However, it creates a lot of extra liquid when cooking chicken.

Coconut Oil

Coconut Oil

I did not have garlic, so I warmed the butter and then added the flour. Keep in mind there was still some coconut oil in the pan. I cooked the flour, then added the chicken broth mix.

Chicken broth, cumin, salt & pepper

Chicken broth, cumin, salt & pepper

I added the sour cream to the chicken broth & flour mixture. I only had black bean salsa, and wasn’t sure how it would taste in this recipe, so I didn’t use salsa or cilantro (this seems to be one of the hardest things to find in the grocery store). I also couldn’t remove it from heat, but I did turn the heat off. I left the sauce where it was in the pan, then added the chicken and avocado. I stirred that together, then added the shredded cheese to the top.

Chicken, avocado & cheese added to the sauce

Chicken, avocado & cheese added to the sauce

I baked until the cheese was bubbling and then I used tortilla chips for dipping. Like I said before, the consistency was off. Maybe I’ll be able to experiment and find a recipe with the chicken, avocado & cheese, but without a flour based sauce. I think that is what made the consistency not something I enjoyed.

Cooked and bubbly

Cooked and bubbly

Chips and dip

Chips and dip

One thought on “Avocado Chicken Enchilada Dip

Leave a Reply

